13.1 Excuses Not to Train for 13.1 miles

This blog post was written by Allessia and posted on June 1, 2012 at 9:45 am
*and stolen by me off of the Lululemon website

1. Iā€™m waiting for the rain to stop.
The funny thing is, the rain is waiting for you to start.

2. I still havenā€™t recovered from that horrific chafing injury.
A healthy coat of Bodyglide in strategic places makes running more fun than a Slip ā€˜N Slide.

3. I canā€™t run and be on pinterest at the same time.
Think of it as photo-scouting for your ā€œI love my hometownā€ board.

4. There is a box of chocolate chip cookies in my cupboard that arenā€™t going to eat themselves.
Nothing builds an appetite like a long run.

5. Training is for the weak.
Thatā€™s true. And by the end of their training theyā€™re strong.

6. I am on the watermelon diet so I am functioning on negative calories.
No-one really functions on negativity.

7. I might get smoking hot and attract too much attention.
Fighting off unwanted admirers is a never-ending task. Being able to outrun them is much more satisfying.

8. I only run if someoneā€™s chasing me.
Find someone else to run with. You can take turns being the chaser.

9. Iā€™ve got to watch Mad Men. Iā€™m obsessed.
I saw Jon Hamm running through your neighbourhood yesterday.

10. I donā€™t have my gear with me.
If a lion was chasing you, would you stop and tell him that you havenā€™t got the proper gear? Maybe you just need the right motivation.

11. I donā€™t have time.
If only we had 24 hours in the day like our grandmothers had when they raised 17 children, cooked dinner, cleaned the house and worked in the hospital ten hours a day, six days a week.

12. My headphones keep falling out.
Try singing instead. Itā€™ll improve your lung capacity and cheer up passers-by.

13. Iā€™m really not in the mood.
Exercise in the morning before your brain figures out what youā€™re doing.

13.1. Iā€™m lazy.
Weā€™ll say. You didnā€™t even take the time to think of a good excuse.

Now that you havenā€™t got any good excuses left you should probably get out there and run!

I loved this too much not to share BUT seeing as how I am Canadian and I don’t run 13.1 miles, I run 21.1km, I need to add a few to this list! If you’ve got any suggestions feel free to share in a comment – and stay tuned for my updated list!

Today’s Style

This morning I was asked something I’m sure other mothers have been asked: “How come you don’t wear that necklace I made for you?”

My son put a combination of beads on string for my mothers day present this year. The best part was that he glitter painted a large sea shell to be in the centre of the shell and placed the beads around it. The kid has definitely got an eye for style! I absolutely love it and it makes my heart melt to think of the effort and thought he put into it.

It is one thing to love the little things your kids make (paintings, crafts, etc.) but it’s another thing to wear it out in public to school or work. But how do you explain this to your child?

Well I thought I had the perfect solution with my daughter. My response was always that Mommy didn’t want to ruin or loose something so special so instead of wearing it out I’d only wear it in the house and it’d stay in a special box in my room. Worked every time!

However, now with my son things are a little different. Mainly because he’s got his older, wiser, more cynical sister. So when I feed him my lines she is quick to point out that mommy wouldn’t want to wear something like that because people would laugh at me (darn school has tainted her already!)

So this morning I put the necklace on and was instructed, by the creator himself, to wear it all day long! I agreed. In chimed sister with her explanation of how I’d probably only wear it when he was around and not when I was at school today *darn! I wiped his tears -he’s a bit of a softy – and promised to wear it the entire day. And if anyone asks me, I’ll let them know my son made it for me.

So today I’m keeping my word. I got many compliments from the other children at Sawyer’s school when I dropped him off and a few grins from fellow parents. Some comments from the ladies at the coffee shop followed by the “aww”‘s once they found out where it came from. Walking on campus I’ve gotten a few funny looks but nonetheless, I’m keeping my promise!

20120605-092847.jpg