Project Optimism: Looking Back to Get Ahead

Sometimes I get a little down and blue – and I highly doubt I’m the only one! Life throws us fastballs and curve balls, and I don’t even like baseball to begin with! Anyway, I find that sometimes I lose myself, lose my focus, lose my motivation, and hit a wall. I often find myself thinking like such a drama queen, thinking that things will never get better, never change, or I’ll never get to where I want to be.

Funny thing is, I know I’ve been in that place before, many, many times before! In times like this a little reflection on where I’ve come from helps me to reset and stop being such a drama queen. Here’s a little glimpse into my past, and what has gotten me to my present:

At the age of 21 I was the mother of two with no real direction in life. Aside from the day-to-day have-to’s, I really didn’t know where I was going. When my son was born, 2008, I finally realized enough was enough! It was time to make some serious changes in my life because what I now knew what that it wasn’t just my life anymore. Each and every one of my actions had (and will continue to have) a direct consequence and impact on someone else’s life. This was my motivation. I was finally strong enough to follow my heart and listen to my head.

2009 was a big year for us! I did something I never thought I’d be able to do, I ended the awful relationship I was in. It was extremely hard but I finally felt free! I also started college! This was very exciting for me since I had never been a real keener for school before, heck I wasn’t even a high school graduate at this point! But the courses I did have met the requirements of the program and so began my academic adventure!

During my time at college I learned a great deal about myself and my vision for my future. I faced many walls and challenges – and often felt like I couldn’t do it! But I kept on trucking and took each experience as a new lesson learned. At the same time as going to college full time, I also took some high school courses on the side. I was determined to graduate from high school before college – and I did! June 2010 was the first time I had graduated from anything since elementary school! I then graduated from college at the top of my class in May 2011. Rather than graduation being an ending for me, I knew that was just the beginning.

Turned out my academic adventure would also include attending University. Similar to college, there have been many obstacles in my way. The cost of daycare and increased cost of living in the city has almost been enough to break my bank! Even more frustrating are the courses that are required for my degree but are only offered at night. In a new city, no family, no friends, and no support network, this was clearly impossible. I have since learned that if you want something badly enough – and you’re paying for it! – nothing is impossible.

My time at university is wrapping up. Once again I’m astonished at myself. I set a goal and I’ve almost complete it regardless of what stood in my way. This is how I know that whatever challenges I face from here on out won’t matter because I can (and will!) persevere!

Some days I feel like I can take on anything, some days defeat me but it all makes up who I am
and shapes who I will become.

success

Spread some joy and share your optimism with others by getting in on Project Optimism!! There is so much joy-sharing going on there’s a page full of it! The Best Life has posted an entire page of fabulous blogs all getting in on the action, sharing some of their joys, turning their frowns upside down, and seeing the bright side of their Mondays! Join in the fun, it’s easy:

  1. Write about something that makes you feel optimistic. Whatever it is, write from your heart.
  2. Post on MONDAYS. Include “Project Optimism” in your title.
  3. Grab a badge by going to your dashboard and clicking the “IMAGE” widget. Adjust pic size 200h x 200w. The image URL: (http://mylifeisthebestlife.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/project-optimism.jpg)
  4. Link over here and invite friends to join in.
  5. Encourage the person who linked up before you. Kindness is contagious!

Happy Monday :)  

project-optimism

*If this isn’t quite enough optimism for you, be sure to check out that page I mentioned which is full of others joy or sneak a peek at my past week’s posts. Find them all stored neat & tidy under Project Optimism in my drop down Category menu to the right.*  

6 thoughts on “Project Optimism: Looking Back to Get Ahead

    • I’ve finally gotten to the top of the list and the library and I’m starting it tomorrow! I’ve been itching to read it for so long, hopefully I’m not disappointed!

  1. Pingback: Making the Most of the Worst | justmypeanuts

Leave a Reply

