About

Welcome 🙂

I’m not sure if anyone reads these “about” pages any more but I believe it is always polite to introduce yourself so here goes:

Let’s start with me, because that is simple. I’m 25 and a single mother of two. Single in the sense that I’m raising my kids alone. I am not single in terms of a relationship. My boyfriend and I live a few hours apart but very definitely have strong plans for a future together. For now because of where he works & lives and because of where I choose to go to school, we get to play the long distance game! When it’s right, it’s right and when you know, you know! And because of that distance is never a problem for us.

Presently I am in University full-time studying Therapeutic Recreation, with a minor in Psychology. (if you don’t know what Therapeutic Recreation is please ask, I love to talk about it!!!) School is very demanding and challenging but I do enjoy it overall and I love the doors it is opening not just for my own but also my kid’s future. Plus, to be honest, this is the first time I’ve ever really put any effort into my education and I actually find it fun to learn. Go ahead, call me a dork…

Other than studying I am pretty busy, never a moment to spare, but that’s just how I like it! I fill every moment of my days and then some. I try to put my books away for weekends and focus on family and other things simply because too much of anything is never a good thing!

I’d describe myself as having a strong Type A personality, with a hint of OCD tendencies, and a dash of ADD. no joke.

I’m a lover of creating lists and checking tasks off as they are completed. I am used to be an avid runner. Aside from running I do enjoy being active and as healthy as possible. I am an habitual multitasker but I think it comes with being a single mom, I have no choice but to do it all and it generally all needs to be done at the same time.

Enough about me, moving on to my kids. Kate is 6. She is very insightful and asks me the hardest questions. She not only asks the questions but she actually listens to the answers as well. She is very analytical of everything. She is at that marvelous stage where she is so proud of her accomplishments (reading, writing, math) at the same time as developing those lovely attitudes (I’m right, your wrong). The combination makes our days interesting to say the least.

And now for Sawyer. My sweet, sensitive Sawyer. He just turned 4 and never ceases to amaze me. Constantly shifting from one extreme to the next: tears to laughter, frustration to laid back. He wears his feelings on his sleeve never leaving anything to the imagination. Of course he’s got all the characteristics of a typical boy wanting to climb & jump and is fascinated with all sports, tools, and machinery. Give him a shovel and a pile of dirt and he’s occupied for an afternoon! He’s also a construction fanatic constantly reading books about and talking about different machinery & tools.  

Then there is my Sophie. I call her mine but I do share her with the entire family. She came to us unexpectedly & suddenly last fall and I’ve not regretted it once. She was quite young and is now approx. 10 months old. She is cross between a Boxer and a Mastiff and has taken the best traits from both. She is pretty big and still growing (Mastiff),  absolutely stunning to look at (Boxer), gentle temperament (Mastiff), playful (Boxer) but only in spurts because her favourite activity is sleeping (Mastiff).  I could go on and on about her and how fantastic she is but I’ll spare you the details. Plus a picture says a thousand words.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “About

  1. I’m so glad you asked 🙂

    It is a professional practice that involves recreation & leisure activities used in a way that will enhance the overall quality of life for an individual. There are many different settings for a TRS (therapeutic recreation specialist) or some go by the title RT (recreation therapist) – in my area the long-term care field is a very common field to work in. There is also work in community settings, nursing/retirement homes, working with individuals with disabilities, or within the mental health field.

    Here’s an example of an internship I did: I worked for 4 months in a rehabilitation hospital. I mainly worked on the Neurological Rehab unit with people who might live with MS and individuals who had suffered a stroke but I also spent time on the amputee unit, spinal cord injury unit, and brain injury unit. Taking the amputee unit for example, one of their rehab objectives is to learn to manoeuvre with their prosthesis. For those maybe had a foot or leg amputated they would work to build up their standing time on their new leg as well as learning to walk. Recreation therapy would use an activity to help them meet this goal. We would set up a game of shuffle board and have people stand and play.

    Here’s another example of what Recreation Therapy is all about:
    A woman on my unit suffered a very damaging stroke. She was unable to communicate properly even though we could tell she had things she wanted to say. Due to the brain damaged she suffered she was unable to speak or express herself through writing. She also had a hard time understanding what was said to her. She struggled with her physiotherapy and occupational therapy because of her communication deficits. I spent some time with this woman’s family learning about her past times and interests. I used this information to set up a session with her where I laid out scrapbooking supplies (her favourite activity!) and I played the Beach Boys (her favourite band) in the back ground. She was calmed and comforted by the familiar music and was even able to hum along (which was amazing considering her condition at the time!) She was also able to communicate through her scrapbooking using stickers that showed different facial expressions. We were finally able to communicate with her. Later on after she recovered more she remembered that session (and the several similar ones that followed) and she thanked me repeatedly for finding a therapy that was tailored to her needs! I can’t even explain how rewarding this career is!

    We created shirts to promote Therapeutic Recreation at my University that say, “Making time fulfilling rather than just filling time” 🙂

  2. Hi there–Just found your blog. I’m a single mom of two as well, a girl and a boy. My kids sound very much like yours. I look forward to reading your blog!

  3. I’ve recently switched my food blog over to be self-hosted which I hope will make it more user-friendly in the future. As a result, if you were following Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen via email, WordPress, or using RSS feeds through Google Reader or some other way, you are no longer subscribed. If you wish to continue receiving future posts from my blog you will need to re-subscribe. Sorry for the inconvenience, Teresa.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s