Happy Monday: Project Optimism

As I typed that title I realized, I actually mean it! In general I hate Mondays. I am definitely one of ‘those’ people who complains and groans and uses the day of the week as an excuse for the entire day’s failures. Today had it’s fill of failures.

It all started during those cold, quiet, still hours of the morning. I, freezing cold and wishing I was still in bed, jumped into the shower hoping the warmth would somehow wash away the usual Monday blues before the day even really started. I very quickly realized I was not alone in the shower – an 8 legged friend decided to join me! I hate spiders! Rather than scream or panic I decided to make him a deal. I told him (literally) that if he didn’t move I’d spare his life and share my shower and in approximately 12 minutes we’d each go our separate ways and hopefully never mingle again. I ended up spending the entire 12 minutes staring at him – my eyes still sting from the suds! What a way to start a Monday…

It really didn’t get much better from there what with the overnight dumping of snow turned freezing rain, kids who hate Mondays as much as I do, and absolutely no empty parking spots at school – does no one stay home when the roads are slick?! Slipping and sliding my way to my first class started out fun, but alas, the fun always ends once someone gets hurt. Falling didn’t hurt my butt nearly as much as it hurt my ego, but hurt nonetheless.

By now it’s nearing noon and I’m in full blown I hate Mondays mode. Here is when I grab a coffee and open my lap top searching for a little break from it all, an escape. Here is when I realize that not only is it Monday, but it is MONDAY! It’s Project Optimism day! Sorry moody Mondays, but with there’s a new Monday in town and I like him!

Funny how random people out there somewhere in the internet can basically say, “Let’s all be optimistic on Mondays” and that can change my day! Rather than wallow in a pitiful Monday I grabbed it by the horns and steered in the direction of my choosing! I even shared in the Project Optimism love myself, turning my closed doors into life lessons.

I kept this attitude up and by the time my school day was done and my munchkins and I were home I was in a completely different mind set – and it spread! One kid offered to do the dishes all by herself (I looked the other way and ignored crusty porridge left on the breakfast bowls!) while the other gave me a hand making what ended up being a delicious dinner – chicken breast with steamed kale & green collards with garlic, peppers, and onions! And then to top it all off we made (for the first time ever) cauliflower crusted garlic & cheese breadsticks!!! How can Monday not be great with all that combo?!

It just goes to show that there is truth in the age old saying, “A smile is contagious.”

Photo from, “20 Days Toward Happiness and Health”
http://draggarwal.org/2012/06/

If you’re interested in spreading OPTIMISM, here’s what you need to do:
  1. Write about something that makes you feel optimistic. Whatever it is, write from your heart.
  2. Post on MONDAYS. Include “Project Optimism” in your title.
  3. Grab a badge by going to your dashboard and clicking the “IMAGE” widget. Adjust pic size 200h x 200w. The image URL: (http://mylifeisthebestlife.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/project-optimism.jpg)
  4. Link over to The Best Life, and invite friends to join in.
  5. Encourage the person who linked up before you, because that’s what it’s all about. Kindness is contagious!
4 thoughts on “Happy Monday: Project Optimism

  1. Yay!!! I’m so glad your day turned around!

    We had crazy-snow-turned-rain, too. What a dreary kind of day. Now I’m optimistic about what a great sleep I’ll have tonight. (With a newborn, that truly IS an optimistic thought!)

    • Hitting two birds with one stone, yah!!! Although I’m not a fan of actually hitting any birds with any stones…..I’m sure you get it though! Thanks for coming by and taking a peek 🙂

Leave a Reply

