Taking the Plunge

Be forewarned: I don’ eat protein bars or make shakes. I don’t count calories or weigh my food. I don’t know my BMI or even my weight. I am just your regular, everyday mother trying to live a healthy, active lifestyle and be the best possible version of myself I can be!

After having children my activity level has gone down a few notches. As they do, babies limit your free time but even more than that, they’ve introduced me to a new-ish feeling: guilt. When my kids were younger I was overwhelmed with guilt when I did take time to better myself. There was always this nagging voice listing the things I should be doing for them instead of crunches or running or taking that aerobics class at the gym – or even taking the time to shave my legs in the shower!

I continue to struggle with finding a balance between my own needs and their needs. Everything else (outside of myself) always seemed more important. After years at battle to find this balance, I have finally come to the conclusion: I am important too! 

It has become clear that when I’m happier, my kids are happier. When I’m feeling better about myself, I feel better about everything in my life. And when I’m active, I feel better about myself. Rather than having a vicious circle, I call this my positivity circle!

So, I’ve taken a plunge! I have officially started a 30 Day Challenge!

I’ve challenged myself to be as healthy & active as possible in the next 30 days – and hopefully thereafter as well!  There are some rules of course but I don’t like to think of them as rules – rules were meant for breaking! Instead of rules, I prefer choices. I am not following a premade plan that confines me and my diet, exercise,and overall life. Instead I am choosing to make changes in my daily life that will enable me to reach my overall life goals and be the best possible version of myself I can be.

These choices are as follows:

1. Healthy Eating
2. Active Lifestyle
3. Happy Thinking

All too often I get on a roll and feel fantastic and then I quit. I start exercising, see some results and then stop working at it. It is so frustrating knowing how great I could be, feel, and look if only I’d put in more effort. And then, when this type of thinking seeps in, I start to wallow in self-pity. And then I generally eat a lot of cookies. Suddenly my positivity circle turns into a negative vicious circle: feel bad about self, feel bad about other aspects of my life, be less active, feel worse. Then cranky Momma Bear enters the picture and it’s bad for everyone!

The point of the 30 Day Challenge is to keep me on track and focused. It isn’t about working really hard for 30 days and then going on a binge because “I made it.” No, it’s a lifestyle I’m trying to create, not a temporary fix. For now, this is my challenge, this is my focus, and these are my choices.

Of course there is more to each one of these but this is the gist of it. For further details, click each choice I’ve made. Maybe something will be similar with you, maybe you’d like to join me, maybe you’d like to encourage me (I need a cheering squad!!)

I encourage you to join me, make choices of your own to change your life and become the best possible you!

One thought on “Taking the Plunge

Leave a Reply

