Sick Water: To Cure What Ails Yah

‘Tis the season my friends…for colds & flus that is! Seems everywhere I go I bump into folks battling one of the two or both! Every household seems to be overwhelmed with sniffles and coughs, sore throats or stomach bugs. I’ve got something that just might help you…

I’ve been on the verge of sickness several times recently but (knock on wood) haven’t been completely down & out with sickness. Every time I feel a tickle in my throat, lack of energy, or those all over muscle aches that are sure signs of nothing good to come, I down a ridiculous amount of mugs full of this concoction:

  • Hot water
  • Peeled, sliced ginger
  • Sliced lemons
  • Honey

The combination is not only a super duty army, able to fight off whatever seems to be invading your system, but it is also soothing to the throat, easy to make, and cheap! Another bonus – you can give it to your kids! It is a much better alternative to cough syrup (what’s in that stuff anyway?!). In my house we’ve even given it a pet name, Sick Water.

Just one mug might be good but as always, the more the merrier! I generally aim for drinking 10 mugs full between dinner & bed time. If the ingredients aren’t going to make you better they’ll at least flush you out!

I mentioned this to some of my family members recently which resulted in them scoffing at my idea. Tonight, while visiting again, I decided to make them a batch. Everyone was complaining of some type of sickness so the water was boiled and the lemons & ginger sliced, honey was added and mugs handed out. The conclusion was that it didn’t taste all that bad. In all honesty, it doesn’t taste all that great either but the benefits greatly outweigh the cons! The best part about our visit tonight was when my sister-in-law opened my Mom’s November edition of Canadian Living magazine. Inside was the recipe I’d just shared and swear by this time of the year! Now suddenly they all feel so much better….oh the power of the media!

Seriously try it and let me know how it works for you! Do you have any tried & true home remedies that help you through cold & flu season? I’d love to hear about them!

20130105-002658.jpg
(photo: Canadian Living November 2012 p. 50)

Leave a Reply

