Chocolate & Caramel & Pecans, Oh My!

Lately I’ve realized something: I’m obsessed with food! I don’t think it’s a bad thing, we have a great relationship, food & I. There’s the whole food as a necessity for basic survival to start with but it has developed into much more than that. Quite often I think of food as fuel, as being what I need to complete my days, be happy, and healthy. Recently it’s become even more than food as fuel though, food has become a friend; a best friend! I find myself constantly thinking about what I’ll eat next, what concoctions I’ll conjure up for my next breakfast smoothie, how I can improve upon old faithful sauces & soups…basically food is on my mind 24/7! It’s no wonder this holiday season has been no different….

A Table of Goodies

A Table of Goodies

So far, I’ve told you about the fabulous Christmas Bark I made as well as the melted mint platter to hold my goodies. What I haven’t shared yet are the turtle like treats my girlfriend & I made while celebrating the end of our school term. These were on our “To Bake List” for last Saturday night however, I have to admit, I wasn’t looking forward to making them. Actually, I wasn’t against making them, just didn’t think it was really up my alley, I’ve never been a fan of Turtles. But since we were on a roll trying so many other recipes I jumped on board and rolled up my sleeves. In the end I was shocked! These were so good and what makes them even better is that they were so easy! I will almost bet that once you read about these you’ll be off collecting the ingredients….I’m not sure where the recipe came from since it was my girlfriend’s, so I’ve got no original link to connect you to but hopefully my instructions will suffice.

We covered the baking sheet with par20121219-200641.jpgchment paper and then laid out waffle pretzels topped with a rolo.
One rolo per pretzel; a little tedious but absolutely worth it OR a perfect job to give your kids, although I’m sure they’ll eat about as many as they lay out on the baking sheet – I know I did! 

Then toss the baking sheet in the oven at 350 for about 5 minutes. You want the rolo to be shiny but NOT completely melted – it should still be completely intact! Bring the baking sheet out of the oven and then top each rolo with one single, delcious pecan! We jazzed up our version by using a cinnamon candied pecan – as if they weren’t going to be sweet enough! 

We smushed the pecan on top and viola! These were a big hit in tins & baskets full of goodies we gave as gifts. I had many requests for the recipe followed by loks of disbelief when they learned how ridiculously easy they were!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate & Caramel & Pecans, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

