Books for Fun

To read for fun, now that’s a thought!

There is not much that compares to picking up a book, opening the worn pages (because I borrow from the library or re-read them so many times!), and being instantly transported to another place and time. It isn’t just an escape from reality but an entirely separate reality that a great novel can take me to instantly as the book opens – and my kids can drag me out of instantly!

Thanks to the demands of my studies, I don’t read for fun very often. I do read a lot but it is always centred around my academic responsibilities. Sometimes I most certainly do enjoy what I study and the required reading but it isn’t quite the same.

Since my term has ended I’ve finally been able to again pick up a book simply for fun. I started with an easy read, Eat, Pray, Love. It’s a story I love and hate for Arizona reasons. Love the way Elizabeth Gilbert writes, reading this book feels like having a long conversation with a close friend. Hate that it is so unrealistic and provides very, very false ideals about the world. But it is pleasurable to read and was a great story to get my nose back into books.

I’ve now moved onto something that has been a long time coming. I’m too poor cheap frugal to buy books new so instead I borrow from my local library. I’ve had a hold on this book for what feels like forever but the wait is proving worthwhile! I’ve not yet completed this book but so far absolutely LOVE it!

20120829-084310.jpg

and if your wondering that is my new “mint sprint” on my nails – love it too!

I’ll share more about this book once I finish.

I’ve also continued my journey through Narnia by snagging the next novel in the series, The Voyage of the Dawn Trader. I also borrowed the audio version because we’ve got a few long journeys ahead of us in this upcoming week.

To add to my recent reads I thought I would share this list I found online. Many of these books are among my most treasured so I’m declaring this list legit.

40 Books You Won’t Be Able to Put Down

http://blog.hpb.com/hpb-blog/2012/4/9/40-books-you-wont-be-able-to-put-down.html

<;

Enjoy and happy reading folks!

One thought on “Books for Fun

Leave a Reply

