The Storm

Have you ever compared your life to the weather?

You know like, When it rains, it pours. ?

Well today I’m feeling like its the calm before the storm. Although I don’t live in an area that often has tornadoes or hurricanes or large scale storms of that sort, I can relate to the feeling.

I know that what is just around the corner is going to be tough. It’s going to be a battle that will likely knock me down, stomp on me, an scuff me up a little. But it won’t break me.

Here’s the outline: the final two weeks of the term, 6 final exams, 2 term papers….take a breather now while you still can…my boyfriend’s big brothers wedding AND my big sisters wedding – of which I am the maid of honour! Still breathing? Let’s also factor in the two kids who seem to require my time, energy, and attention what’s that all about and the travel time to get to both of these weddings. Although the one wedding is a small, casual, midweek affair, it is still a two hour drive making it less than convenient. As for my sisters, it’s far from small & casual! It’s the big kahuna. It also requires much more of my time. Rehearsal, last minute run arounds, etc etc. I haven’t even begun to think about my speech! that’s a lie, I think about it all the time I just haven’t written it!

So how to go about this forecasted storm….

I do lead a pretty busy & chaotic life in general so I’ve become accustomed to whirlwinds and have some strategies to help bear the storms:

1) make a list – several actually! A list for every topic, day, reminders, the list of lists I have is never ending but ever so helpful.

2) drink coffee. Pretty straight forward that one is.

3) when I’ve had too much coffee, switch to decaf green tea. If there’s time, throw a cinnamon stick in for good measure.

4) prep everything before bed. This includes everything from packing & loading the car to setting the coffee maker on auto brew (my true love).

5) stick as close to regular routine as possible. This one is for the kids. We are on the go so much that it is important to keep some things stable and predictable. Meal times, bed times, story times, etc. Basically, if it has a “time” it should be done at the regular time.

6) keep a spare phone charger in the car. You never know when you’ll forget/lose your charger and without my phone….let’s not even talk/think about that. Plus my many lists are generally saved on my phone – yes, there’s an app for that too!

7) make sure you have one strong person in your corner. This is where the boyfriend comes into the story! He’s definitely the rock I depend on at times like this. Even though he’s not often with me physically, he’s always with me. He’s always just a phone call, text, or email away and always willing to listen and help. He is my go to person when I am unsure or faced with a problem; a problem solver by nature. He should be #1 on my survival list simply because without him I wouldn’t be able to do half of what I do! He also looks pretty damn good when he’s all dressed up so that’ll make these weddings even more fun 🙂 sorry about all the mushy talk but if it weren’t for him I’d be medicated by now!

These will help me get through the next two and a half weeks. Actually, what is really getting me through is the thought of one full months vacation after it all! As soon as classes end & weddings happen, I’ve got a clear calendar for a whole month! Ok that’s another lie, we’ve got camping trips booked and day trips planned but there will be no studying or weddings! I just might get some sleep…

Leave a Reply

