Weekly Intentions

Last week’s intention dealt with dinners. I won’t lie and say it was easy but I will say that it was a success! This week’s intention isn’t quite as simple yet so much more important. It is much more subjective and isn’t going to be as easy to track but it is an area of my life that I feel needs immediate attention & improvement. My intention is to be in the moment with my children.

There was an unexpected, tragic loss for someone close to my family recently. The idea of what this person would be going through after such a loss is something I cannot even begin to imagine. It has sparked thoughts of the  frailty of life and making the most of the moments we have because our moments are limited.

All too often I find myself caught up in all life’s goings ons and although I am present I am not really present. This is especially valid regarding my kids. It is a fact that there are only so many hours in a day. We are given a set amount of time each evening that just doesn’t coordinate with our list of thing to do. Between dinner, homework, clean up, swimming, baseball, (the list cold go on and on), it is far too easy to switch on robot mode. We have fun, kids talk while I listen, I talk while kids don’t listen, I am actively engaged with them but the issue is that I’m not truly there in all regards.

While listening to the happenings in their days I’m also planning tomorrows lunches and washing dishes. As we read bedtime stories I’m planning out my study time and picking out their clothes for tomorrow.

A moment is one single slice of time and once it is gone we can’t get it back. Although I do place a high priority on being organized, I think separation needs to occur. I need to separate each moment instead of meshing them all together.

My weekly intention is to be in the moment.

One moment at a time.  

Life is too short to wake up with regrets.

Love the people who treat you right & forget the ones who don’t.

Believe that everything happens for a reason. 

If you get a chance – take it! 

If it changes your life – let it! 

– Pam

Leave a Reply

