Peanut Butter Perfection

I’ve always been a lover of the butter – peanut butter that is. My condolences to all those with an allergy that inhibits them from experiencing what is in my opinion, the greatest food on earth.

My peanut butter eating habits have evolved over time. I used to be a nothing but Kraft extra creamy kinda gal but dabbled in the crunchy once and fell even more in love. Since reaching my adult years and starting to put more thought into what I eat I begin eating the natural stuff. At first I hated it. It missed that zing, that makes you never want to stop eating it, extra creamy bit – aka the sugar! So it took awhile for it to catch on but now I’d never go back! The “regular” kind taste kind of like a dessert to me now. I am not partial to any particular brand just as long as the ingredients lists looks like this:
ingredients: peanuts


You’d be surprised at how many jars claim to be natural but have many extra ingredients, mainly salt but often those nasty things no one can even pronounce get thrown in. Now I won’t point fingers or name names *cough skippy cough* but I’ve made the mistake of not reading the label and grabbing a jar only to be disappointed.
I THOUGHT YOU WERE SUPPOSED TO BE NATURAL?? That’s my general reaction combined with steam coming out my ears and then I rant on the phone to my boyfriend (who loves to hear this kind of stuff) for a solid 15 minutes. I generally end up using the jar to bake with just because I’m too cheap to not eat it – but I’m never happy about it!

Ok so on and on I go about my love affair with peanut butter and I’ve yet to even get to the good part….I’ve perfected the peanut butter snack! It’s a peanut butter bar of wonder. I’d like to call them Beautiful Balls (because they truly are a thing of beauty) or Big Balls (because I like them big) but I’m sure I can come up with something I’d rather hear my kids repeat – especially when the sentence will likely also include filling their mouths with them. So the official name will have to be Sarah’s Balls simply because it’s late and I haven’t the energy to come up with a better name!

Here’s the recipe but to be honest, I’ve made these so much that for me it’s simply: 1 giant pile of oats, 2 big globs of peanut butter (melted), a sprinkle of I’ve got handy, splash of vanilla, spoon of honey, another splash of vanilla for good measure, and mix. Just to give you a more practical guide try this and tweak as you see fit:

SARAH’S BALLS
1 cup of oats
1/2 cup of natural peanut butter melted (or any kind of but butter your little heart desires)
1/3 cup of honey
1 teaspoon of vanilla (or two, of three…I love vanilla!)
*Now for the add-ins I use:
Chopped almonds
White chocolate chips
Flax seeds
Chopper unsalted peanuts

Mix together until, well until it is mixed together! Then pop it in the fridge for about a half hour or so. (I left mine overnight once and it was still fine!)

20120517-112147.jpg

Pull them out of the fridge and roll into balls whatever size you prefer. I like to make a variety. Put them in a sealed container and keep in the fridge. I’d say they keep up to about a week – but seriously people, they won’t last that long!

20120517-112256.jpg

please feel free to test them & improve them and share your versions in the comments please! A friend of mine substitutes the honey for brown rice syrup & adds shredded coconut.

Enjoy your balls and go make it a great day!

8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Perfection

  1. I actually love these. I reduce the honey, because I find them extra sweet, but they’re perfect for snacks and they’re coming to camp with me 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on cookiesandkarma and commented:
    These delicious, and pretty nutritious treats are from my cousin Sarah’s blog. They’re super easy to make, and you can customize them however you want. I mix in coconut, flax meal, white chocolate chips and chopped peanuts with 1/4 c of honey instead of the 1/3 because they’re a little sweet for me.

  3. What is it with the nutty-thingies today? I JUST saw a post for homemade granola that has my mouth watering and now THIS. I guess my summer girly figure can just go bye-bye. That one looks easy to boot. No doubt the kids will gobble them up. 🙂

  4. Pingback: How Dare I | justmypeanuts

  5. Pingback: 4 Snacks Perfect for Kids Hiking in the Grand Canyon | The Grand Canyon

Leave a Reply

